Lawmakers: counties should defer property tax bills and waive late fees/penalties for minimum of 90 days

To relieve one of the largest financial pressures on families during COVID-19, a bipartisan group of state representatives are calling on every Illinois county to follow the lead of Kane, Sangamon and St. Clair Counties to either delay the due date of property tax bills or waive all late fees and penalties on the payment of the first installment of those bills for a minimum of 90 days. Under Illinois law, each of the state’s 102 counties send out annual property tax bills and collect payments due in two installments. The timing of when property tax bills are mailed out varies by county.

“No family should ever have to worry about being unable to afford their property taxes during a public health crisis like the COVID-19 pandemic,” said Representative Joe Sosnowski (R-Rockford). “At least three counties across our state have already done the right thing and taken this action. My colleagues and I are calling on every county to do the same. Specifically, I am asking Winnebago County and Boone County to defer property tax payments and/or waive late fees and penalties for Stateline area families.”

A group of legislators are joining Representative Sosnowski in calling on counties to take action to implement a property tax deferral program and waive late fees and penalties for a minimum of 90 days.

Legislator contact information:

State Representative

Tom Bennett (R-Gibson City) 815.844.9179

Anthony DeLuca (D-Chicago Heights) 708.754.7900

Marty Moylan (D-Des Plaines) 847.635-6821

Joe Sosnowski (R-Rockford) 815.547.3436

Maurice West (D-Rockford) 815.987.7433